Stone Sour’s Corey Taylor explains Hydrograd title

Stone Sour are set to release their latest studio effort ‘Hydrograd’ through Roadrunner Records on June 30th. The band have already released two singles “Song #3” and “Fabuless”.

While speaking with Metalhammer, frontman Corey Taylor explained the inspiration behind the albums title ‘Hydrograd’ came from travelling in Eastern Europe.

He says: “It doesn’t mean anything. A few years ago I was running through an airport, I think it was Poland – one of the older airports that hadn’t been upgraded with blue touch-screen graphics.

“It has 80s LED lock numbers and letters at every gate, so I’m running to find my gate and I was looking around but also taking everything in.

“I looked up for a split-second and my brain saw ‘Hydrograd’ and I thought, ‘What the fuck’s that? Is that Russia? Where is that?’ I had to know, so I went back to the gate. I think it was Milan or something. It didn’t even look like the word ‘Hydrograd’, but my brain had processed this quick glimpse and put ‘Hydrograd’ in my head.”

“It stuck with me as a cool name. It doesn’t mean anything it’s just this word that’s left over from this weird fuckin’ story. I just held on to it over the years, and when it came to this album, I demoed a song called Hydrograd which is on the album and I thought it was a cool name for the album too.”

“Now it’s this word that didn’t mean shit before and now it’s the name of this really cool fuckin’ rock album.”

Taylor had previously stated that the album will include some “Jazz and Hip Hop moments” and has also stated “It’s probably the coolest album I’ve made since the first Slipknot album. I feel very confident making that statement because it’s so good.”

Stone Sour kick off their North American tour later this week followed by select dates in Australia and New Zealand. Full dates and tickets are available here.

We are very much looking forward to ‘Hydrograd’. Check out Stone Sour’s latest singles below and let us know what you think in the comments.

 

 

Photo Credit – Stone Sour, Roadrunner Records

Video Credit – Stone Sour, Roadrunner Records

Leave a Reply

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

